Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Joe Frazier Brown, Sr. Award of Excellence
Share |


The Joe Frazier Brown, Sr. Award of Excellence was created in 1994 for the purpose of recognizing an outstanding lawyer in the community, established as a long-term tribute in honor of Joe Frazier Brown, Sr., who had a distinguished career and also taught and influenced many attorneys throughout the years.  He was the 150th District Court Judge from 1957 until 1963 and president of the San Antonio Bar Association from 1964 until 1965.  Judge Brown died in 1993.

The award recognizes an attorney (or attorneys) who exemplifies all that is good about our profession.  He or she should demonstrate the highest level of professionalism, exceptional skills as a counselor and advocate and such personal attributes as honor, integrity, service and intelligence.  He or she should be a model of the Texas Lawyer’s Creed and an inspiration for others in serving our clients and fulfilling our responsibility to the legal system.

The Joe Frazier Brown, Sr. Award of Excellence is presented to the recipient(s) at the annual Law Day luncheon in May.  Names of all recipients are permanently on display in the San Antonio Bar Association offices, located on the fifth floor of the Bexar County Courthouse.


Looking to nominate? Nomination information, HERE.


Past Recipients






  Hon. Catherine Stone 


  Clem Lyons 
2013 John E. Clark
2012 Hon. Phil Hardberger
2011 George Parker
2010 Charles "Charlie" Butts
2009   Sue M. Hall
2008   Jim Branton
2007   Jack Pasqual
2006   J. Burleson “Burley” Smith


Charlie Smith and Judge Bill White
2004   George H. Spencer
2003   Frank W. Baker
2002   Harvey L. Hardy
2001   Roy R. Barrera, Sr. and Hubert W. Green
2000   Robert B. O'Connor
1999   Ralph G. Langley
1998   Chief Justice Blair Reeves
1997   Charles E. Biery and Samuel F. Biery
1996   Justice Franklin S. Spears
1995   Jack Hebdon
1994   Judge Solomon Casseb, Jr.



Procedure for Nominations

© 2004-2015 San Antonio Bar Association. All rights reserved. Navigation bar images by Hugh Leighton McWilliams Photography.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal