Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Committees
Share |

 

With 21 committees, it's EASY for like-minded members to share interests!

In fact, serving as a member of one of the various committees offers tremendous opportunities for growth. For example, attorneys can:

 

  • PARTICIPATE in the development and maintenance of SABA's webpage (Technology committee)
  • WORK with judges and other attorneys to improve the efficiency and performance of the county court system, gaining valuable knowledge while doing so. (County Courts committee)
  • HELP plan and organize the annual Judge Anees A. Semaan Criminal Law seminar. (Criminal Law committee)
  • PARTICIPATE in the development of local rules (District Courts committee)
  • HEAR and decide fee disputes between attorneys and clients (Fee Dispute committee)
  • SERVE as an investigator and advocate for fellow attorneys involved with disputes with physicians (Medical-Legal Liason committee)
  • INVESTIGATE and prosecute complaints against individuals practicing law without a license (Unauthorized Practice of Law committee)


Are you already a member of the San Antonio Bar Association?
Would you like to get more involved?
SCROLL to the bottom of this page to SIGN UP for one or more of our active COMMITTEES!

 


Civil District Courts

Chair: Jeff Akins
210.599.4905  jrakins@sbcglobal.net
 
The District Courts committee addresses issues of concern to the judiciary and the attorneys who practice in District Court. 


Community Justice Program Golf Tournament

Chair: Allan DuBois
akd@akduboislaw.com

The Community Justice Program Gold Tournament committee plans and conducts the annual CJP gold tournament. 


Community Justice Program Pro Bono

Chair: Stephen Darling
210.224.9991  sdarling@hfdlaw.com

The Community Justice Program Pro Bono Committee coordinates pro bono service opportunities and fundraising. 


Community Relations/Media Response

Barry Beer
210.733.6555  bbeer@beerking.com
 
The Community Relations committee educates the public and builds public trust in the legal profession by serving as a liaison between attorneys and the public. 


Continuing Legal Education

Chair: Judge Larry Noll
210.335.2831
 
The Continuing Legal Education Committee plans and executes continuing legal education seminars. 


County Courts

Chair: Steven B. Treu
210.736.6600  streu@langleybanack.com
 
The County Courts Committee works with various judges and attorneys to improve performance and efficiency in both civil and criminal matters of the county court system. 


Criminal Law & Procedure

Chair: John Ritenour
210.335.2311   ritenourlaw@aol.com 

The Criminal Law Committee promotes the practice and education of defense attorneys, prosecutors and judges in our local criminal justice system. Plan and produces the A.A. Semaan Criminal Law Institute. 


Federal Courts

Co-Chair: Leslie Hyman
210.892.1601  lhyman@pulmanlaw.com
Co-Chair: James Hoffman
210.227.7121  hoffmanj@clemens-spencer.com

 
The Federal Courts Committee assists the federal courts in addressing the problems and challenges facing the deferral judiciary and makes recommendations for improving the federal court system. 


Fee Dispute

Point of Contact: Christina Tovar, christinat@sabar.org 

Chair: Gilbert Vara, Jr.
210.614.6400  gilbert@varalaw.com
 
The Fee Dispute committee resolves fee disputes between attorneys and their present/former clients. Arbitration panel consists of attorneys and members of the public. 


J.P. & Municipal Courts

Chair: Craig Noack

craig@noacklawfirm.com

Co-chair: Tammy L. Wincott
210.732.8477  twincott@wincottlaw.com

This committee reviews the operation of the JP and Municipal Courts.


Law Day

Chair: Judge Ed Prado
210.472.4060
 
The Law Day committee plans and promotes Law Week activities, which include activities designed to educate the public about its rights and responsibilities in the legal system.


Law School

Co-Chair: Reed Greene
210.826.1233  c.reed.greene@gmail.com
Co-Chair: Faye Bracey
210.436.3511  fbracey@stmarytx.edu

 

Serves as a liaison between SABA and law schools. 

 


Lawyer Referral

Chair: Dustin Whittenburg
dustin@whittenburgtax.com

 
The Lawyer Referral Committee assists the the San Antonio Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service in improving the availability and quality of legal services offered by LRS. 


Library

Chair: Gary Hutton
210.335.2300  ghutton@bexar.org

Advises the Bar and Bexar County Commissioners on operation of the Bexar County Law Library.


Medical/Legal Liaison

Chair: Brian C. Steward
210.490.4357  brian@krwlawyers.com
 
The Medical Legal Liaison Committee focuses on issues jointly impacting medical and legal professions. A joint commission of the SABA and Bexar County Medical Society.


Membership

Co-Chair: Richard Loza
210.212.3700  rloza@trla.org

Co-Chair: William "Doug" Bineham

210.736.2937 wdbineham@binehamgillen.com
 
Observes trends in membership to continually develop new and innovative ways to draw new members and to address the static and changing needs of current membership. 


Mentor

Chair:
Christine Reinhard
210.447.8033 
creinhard@sr-llp.com

Organizes the monthly group mentoring programs focused on practice areas, professionalism and ethics. Potential mentees and mentors should ask the chair about how to get involved by sending an email to Christine Reinhard at creinhard@sr-llp.com.


Military Liaison

Chair: Natalie Wilson
210.736.6600  nwilson@langleybanack.com
 
Promotes professional and social interaction between active duty military legal officers and the Bar.


Program

Co-Chair: Jane Macon
210.270.7142  jmacon@fulbright.com
Co-Chair: Dawn Bruner Finlayson
210.288.3630  dfinlayson@beclaw.com
 
The Program committee selects speakers for the monthly Bar Association luncheons (not including the Law Day Program).


Publications

Chair: Sara Murray
210.736.6600  smurray@langleybanack.com
Vice-Chair: Pat Autry
210.734.7092  autryp@plunkett-gibson.com
 
The Publications committee serves as the editorial board for the Bar's bimonthly magazine, the San Antonio Lawyer, and the Bar's monthly newsletter, the Subpoena


Unauthorized Practice of Law
Chair: Steve Cennamo
210.732.6699 


Investigates complaints of practicing law without a license. Committee established by Texas Legislature. Names will be sent to the State Bar of Texas. 




 

 

 





















© 2004-2015 San Antonio Bar Association. All rights reserved. Navigation bar images by Hugh Leighton McWilliams Photography.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal